2011 Recalling Problems in the History of Painting
2016-03-16

The earliest human paintings were cave paintings that recorded things in life. However, they were able to make a breakthrough to objectively record nature, constituting painting as human creativity, which is shown in the consecutive double-square or four-square in original ethnic containers. Those patterns manifest that creativity is continuous “rhythm” and “vitality.” Its existence was positioned by anthropologists as a cultural phenomenon under the “universal animism” system of a theological nature. However, the major accomplishments obtained by the concept of painting in modern times is humans breaking away from the gods and using themselves as aesthetic criteria to create the concept of “art.” These formed paintings were used to express the creative mode of human emotion. This emotion is the source of aesthetics. At the same time, it is also the foundation of using emotions for learning and tasting, thereby creating the concept that painting is art.

 

For a long time, paintings were often used as a starting point for our observation of “beauty.” Learning painting is practically cultivating taste constructing, or forming the ability to beauty appreciating. In fact, the constructing of “taste” was influenced by the reproduction process of nature. That is manifested in the expression that beauty is the “reproduction of nature.” However, the development of the concept of art eventually went through a change of perspective due to human technology. This is presented in the way that cubism is expressed in art, tossing aside taste (the problem of beauty or ugliness) to seek “truth.” We must seriously take a look at cubism to make a breakthrough of picture frames which hold the thoughts of a virtual vanishing point and virtual three-dimensional space. Its meaning is closer to the truth of the matter and more accurately views our observations as actually being a live observation process. It is not seen as an alleged viewing method for traditional “beauty.” The discovery of photography and printing technology gradually destroyed the authenticity of the painting’s “aura,” and shook up the narrative structure formed by traditional painting. After successive waves of attacks, a trend of painting giving way to photography, composite media art, and art installations was already becoming commonplace. Yet, the self-proclaimed avant-garde still appeared to move towards the declaration that “painting is dead.”

 

“Is painting dead?” This is the artistic question that I have been pondering over the recent years. Of course, thinking like this, apart from the reluctance to depart as a creator from “painting” as a study process in the exploration of the self, this declaration of “painting is dead,” has seemed to also stir up my sense of responsibility within “painting.” Perhaps the existence of painting, as others have said, “seems to have entered the Forbidden City.” However, when faced with human “emotions,” painting has many qualities that other art cannot replace. So when conceptual art uses the form to reflect my own attitude towards art, perhaps they neglected that the origin of art stemmed from the inherent characteristics of life. This kind of palpitating is related to “emotion,” “temperature,” and the “actual functions of the body.” Of course, my concern is not purely returning to the original position of painting, but what direction painting should take in the future! As to this direction, I believe that the temperature of “painting” is a key concept. Even if minimalism wishes to lower the temperature, they cannot go without temperature and lower it to zero. This process illustrates that “painting” should be viewed as a subject. “Concept” should not be viewed as a subject. This is the direction painting should take.

 

(Organized by CHU, WEN-HAI)

READ MORE

1991 – 2010 Space and Installation Development
2016-03-16

If you want to use installation art forms for personal creativity, then the founding of IT PARK can be said to have been a symbolic watershed. Before IT PARK, I had already consciously spent time thinking about artistic issues of installation techniques. 1984’s Seven Days of Practice for me was the door that opened up large-scale installation art. And it was IT PARK that provided the means for artistic transformation at that time in Taiwan. Many artists with great aspirations could explore and speak on this free platform. Taiwan’s installation art concepts developed rapidly during this period.

 

As to why I turned to installation art, my position at that time was mostly based on problems encountered when “painting.” This could simultaneously also be said to be a criticism of the art form of painting. I believed that there was a feature of art that was different from other activities. It was always an exploration of unfathomable strangeness. Eventually, some kind of consensus or common understanding might be reached with this strangeness. In this way, the self can be transcended and a work of art formed through creative friction. If this kind of strangeness external to the self could be a root from which art sprouts, then we could face the basic elements of the spatial installation. For example, issues of space, mass, and volume are more alien than the issues a painting faces. Since painting is pretty much a visual category of art, human vision encounters a great deal of repetition on the canvas, which leads to exhaustion and a failure to create new meaning in art. Space, mass, and volume in installation art all use human senses as sensory channels, which is not the case in the narrow and limited field of visual arts. So when we stand in front of an art installation, we truly feel the reality of its weight and texture. I must say that this sense of reality inherent in installation art does not exist in painting. Therefore, when facing installation art it fundamentally appeals to a never before experienced sensual strangeness. In this kind of new spirit of aesthetic perception, our senses are very easily “attacked” by the artwork, producing deeper sensations. Painting lacks feeling and focuses more on visual aspects. It must always be attached to a structure, and it, therefore, becomes a subsidiary vessel. Malevich’s Suprematism allows the existence of this kind of subsidiary nature to reflect on itself. This makes “art” a pure term that pursues self-expression.

 

In the early stages of Modernism, materials used for installation art were very simple. Its pureness was even reflected in the unity or standardization of the material’s dimensions. These aesthetic features were expressed in the materials. In fact, as I found Taiwanese plywood dimensions to be different from Western aesthetic standards, my Modernist installations achieved a regional quality. What’s more, because of this early conscious combination of regional aesthetics, my own works could stand as a painless declaration and advocacy of moral integrity, or for the dogmatic Modernist crowd for an invisible transition to a Postmodern way of thinking. Among all this, while installation forms have not changed, the artistic connotations of the works are poles apart.

 

(Organized by CHU, WEN-HAI)

 

 

READ MORE

1982-1990 Rethinking What Art Is (Concepts and Materials)
2016-03-16

After returning from studying abroad in Spain, I gave up an artistic expression that focuses on aesthetic expression. In addition to discovering traditional painting, I also discovered music (even my beloved rock music), performance, architecture, and so on. In that way, I thought about artistic expression from many perspectives. Thus, I made a breakthrough in traditional thinking about painting. At that time, it was precisely the period when Minimalism was most active in western modern art. My reflections on my own works were also initiated from this artistic context. Regarding using painting to express concepts of modernism at that time (for example, Lin Show-Yu and Hu Kun-Jung), I chose to enter from the aspect of “materiality” to explore a purer world of the modern spirit.

 

Compared to painting, which is predicated on relationships or connections between people and the outside world, the world expressed by “materials” eliminates intervention caused by human physicality. Materials are induced to speak for themselves. From a pure perspective, this expression excludes many contexts or modal interpretation that may occur in the external world. For this reason, we say that painting is a narrative form, while materials will always incline more towards the realm of concept. For this reason, I had to give up traditional painting and move towards a purer world of modernism.

 

However, during the process of conceptualizing art, modernism increasingly had a tendency to emphasize concepts and ignore works. My attitude and position on this aspect: “Art” is an activity that expresses personal concepts or emotions through “form”. Its linguistic mode is to speak through “form”. Therefore, if we are to mention a type of artistic concept, we should still emphasize the artistic concept as produced from a kind of “artistic form”, unlike previous artistic concepts. It should not cancel out or ignore artistic forms, but focus on the author’s concept. If the focus of conceptual art lies in the author’s mind, and not in the concepts manifested by the artwork, then “art” and “thinking” will not be able to be differentiated. Furthermore, we are not able to cross the unbridgeable gulf beyond reason through artistic events. Through this form of thinking that transcends rational human wisdom, we observe that the human intellect can produce a range of different things, rather than just traditional rational logic. Traditional rationality is a logical system that cannot be reversed. It has clear, stable, and ethical characteristics. On the contrary, in the art world, we pursue strange unfamiliarity. Thus, artists do not rely on logic thoughts (thinking is prone to inertia), but instead grasp particular forms that can be expressed in an unstable external world, and thereby become a kind of concept. For the time being, if we do not distinguish whether concepts in art exist in the works themselves or as a form of thinking, then there is at least one feature that can be found in an artwork. This feature is something that thought-based art cannot achieve. At the same time, this feature is also the ultimate foundation that lies in all artworks – “artistry”. For this, I must say that even if the materials that I express exclude narrative intervention, creating forms and speaking on their own, in this pure and simple world of silence, “artistry” is still inextricably contained within the forms of the work and is the ultimate basis of all artworks.

 

(Consolidated by CHU, WEN-HAI)

READ MORE

2011 回顧繪畫史的問題
2016-03-16

人類最早的繪畫是在洞窟壁畫記錄生活中的事物,但是能夠突破客觀地記錄性質而將繪畫作為人類的創作力,是原始民族器皿上的那些二方或是四方連續的圖案。在那些圖案裡,顯現出的創造是一種連續性的“節奏”和“活力” ,而被人類學家將它的存在方式定位於——俱有神學性質的‘萬有靈論’系統下的文化現象。然而,近代以來的繪畫觀念所取得的重大成就,是人類脫離了神靈而以自己做為審美的準則去創造了‘藝術’這個概念,並且形成了繪畫作為表達人類自身情感的創作模式,而這個情感便是關於審美的來源,同時也以情感作為品味學習的基礎,以此造就了繪畫就是藝術的觀念。

 

長久以來,繪畫經常作為我們對於‘美’的觀察起點,學習繪畫幾乎就是一種培育品味的構築或是鑑賞能力。事實上,關於‘品味’的構築又受到了外在自然的再現過程影響,而表現於——美就是‘自然地再現’這個表達方式之上。然而,藝術的觀念發展終究是從人類的科技改變了觀看的觀念,而呈現在立體派對於藝術的表現上,去將品味(美或醜的問題)拋開而去求‘真’。我們必須認真的看待立體派突破了畫框這個擁有虛擬消失點以及虛擬三維空間的想法,它的意涵是更接近了物質的真實性,以及更正確地看待我們的觀看活動事實上是一個活生生地觀看過程,而不是被傳統的‘美’所虛擬的觀看方式。而攝影術、印刷技術的發明陸續的將繪畫所持的‘靈光’之本真性摧毀,以及傳統繪畫以來形成的敘事結構一一動搖。在一波波的打擊下,繪畫讓位於攝影、複合媒材藝術或是裝置藝術已經是大勢所趨,然而終究還是出現了那些自詡為前衛藝術者向著——‘繪畫已死’的宣言。

 

‘繪畫死了嗎’?是我近幾年來所關切的藝術思考。當然,會這麼思考除了身為一個創作者對於‘繪畫’的自我學習探索過程的依戀。面對著‘繪畫已死’的宣言,似乎挑起了自己對於‘繪畫’的某種內在的責任感,或許繪畫的存在如同他人所說:‘儼然已入故宮’ , 但是面對著人類‘情感’ 懷寶,繪畫的諸多存在特性依然是其它藝術無法替代,所以當觀念藝術以形式反映自己對於藝術的態度時,他們或許忽略了藝術從起源上是緣於生命內在悸動的特質,而這種悸動是和‘情感’、‘溫度’ 以及‘身體的實際運作’有關。當然,我所關切地並不會是單純的回歸到繪畫原來的位置,而是未來的繪畫該怎麼走!關於這個未來性的方向,我是認為繪畫的‘溫度’是一個關鍵的概念。即使極限主義希望去降低溫度,但是他們絕對不能沒有溫度而把它降為零。這當中說明的是把‘繪畫’當作主體而不是將 ‘觀念’當作主體,這才是繪畫該走的路。(整理 朱文海)

READ MORE

1991-2010 空間與裝置的開展
2016-03-16

如果要將裝置藝術的形式大量使用於個人創作當中,那麼伊通的創立可以說是具象徵性的分水嶺。在伊通以前,我已經有意識地以裝置的手法去思考藝術的問題,1984年的創作《七日之修》便是開啟個人對於大型裝置的藝術之門,然而伊通提供了當時台灣的藝術轉型需求,使得許多有志之士可以在這個自由的平台上思索和發言,而台灣的裝置藝術觀念便是在這一段時間內迅速的發展。

 

對於何以朝向裝置的藝術形式?本人當時的立場幾乎都是朝著‘繪畫’上所遇到的問題所引發而來,同時這也可以說:是一場對於繪畫藝術形式的批判。我認為,藝術當中有一項別於其它活動的特徵,就是它總是在不可捉摸的陌生性中探索,而最終會和這樣的陌生性達成某種契合性或共識,以此方式超越自我並摩擦成為作品。如果,這種自身以外的陌生性可以作為藝術發生的根本,那麼我們在空間裝置上所面對的基本元素,例如:空間、質、量,都會比繪畫所面臨的問題來得更陌生,由於繪畫幾乎是屬於視覺的範疇,因此人的視覺在平面上經歷了這麼多的重複性,總是會顯現出疲乏,而使得藝術了無新意。裝置藝術的空間性、質、量都是以身體整體感官作為感知方式,而不是狹隘的視覺藝術,因此我們站在它面前會真實地感受到重量或是肌膚觸及般的現實感,我必須說:這樣的現實感在裝置藝術以前的繪畫作品中是不存在的,因此裝置藝術從根本上便是觸及了以往我們在面臨作品時,從來未曾經歷的感官陌生性,在這種新的美學感知情態下,我們很容易的便會遭受從作品而來的襲擊而產生更多的感覺。繪畫缺少了許多感覺而較專注於視覺性,是在於它總是必須依附於建築上而成為附屬體,馬勒維奇的絕對主義讓這種附屬性質的存在開始去反省它自己,這使得‘藝術’成為一個被追求於表現自身純粹的專名。

 

裝置藝術在早期的現代主義階段,所採用的材料極為精簡,它的純粹甚至被表現在材料尺寸上的統一或規格化。這種材料上所表現出的審美特徵,經由我發現了台灣的三夾板尺寸不同於西方的審美規格,使得我的現代主義裝置帶有某種地域性的色彩。並且,也由於早期有意識的結合地域性審美,從而使得自己的作品可以無陣痛的從講求宣言、主張和貞操或是教條的現代主義陣營,無形的過渡到後現代的藝術脈絡。這當中,裝置的形式沒變,但是藝術的內涵卻是南轅北轍。(整理 朱文海)

READ MORE

1982-1990 重新思考藝術是什麼(觀念與材質的思考)
2016-03-16

從西班牙留學歸國,我捨棄了以美的表達為主軸的藝術表現,發現了傳統繪畫之外,音樂(甚至是我喜愛的搖滾樂)、表演、建築‥‥,多種向度去綜合思考藝術的表達,因此突破了藝術就是繪畫的傳統思維。此時,西方的現代藝術正是極簡主義最為活絡的時期,自己的作品思考也是從這個藝術脈絡去進行。對於當時以繪畫去表現現代主義的觀念(例如:林壽宇和胡坤榮),我的選擇是從‘物質性’切入,去探究更為純粹的現代精神世界。

 

相較於繪畫懸念於人與外在世界之間的某種關係或是連接,‘材質’表現出的世界則是消除了人的肉體性所造成的干預–而令材料自行說話。這種表達方式是在一種純粹的自立體上,儘可能排除與外在之間可能發生的語境或是情態演繹。由於這種原因,我們會說繪畫是敘述性的,而材質無論如何都更偏向於觀念的領域。也由於這種原因,使得我必須放棄傳統繪畫而邁向更為純粹的現代主義世界。

 

然而,現代主義對於藝術的觀念化過程中,那種愈來愈強調觀念而忽視作品的傾向,我個人對於這方面的態度與立場是認為:‘藝術’是一種憑藉著 ‘形式’表達自身觀念或是情感的活動,它的語言方式就是透過‘形式’本身去說話。因而如果當我們說某一種藝術的觀念,那麼應當還是在強調我們在那一種‘藝術形式’之下所產生出不同於以往的藝術觀念,而不是去取消或是忽視作品的形式卻反而去關注於作者的觀念。如果觀念藝術的重心是在於作者意念中而不是處於作品當中被呈顯出的觀念,那麼‘藝術’與 ‘思想’將無法區分,並且我們也將無法經由藝術活動去超越理智無法跨越的鴻溝,透過這種超越人智理性的形式思維,我們觀察到人類的智性是可以產生多樣與不同,而不只是傳統的邏輯理性。傳統理性服偃的是一套不可拂逆的邏輯系統,俱有清晰、安定和某種倫理性特徵;相反的,在藝術的世界裡卻是在於追求陌生的生疏性,因此他們便不會憑藉著思維性(思維容易產生慣性),而是由不穩定的外在世界中,經由某種可能的形式特徵而去掌握住一些可以言說的特定形式,藉由此形成了某一觀念。如果我們暫且不去區分藝術中的觀念究竟是存在於作品中還是思想當中,那麼至少還有一項存在于作品中的特徵,而這種特徵便是號稱以思想為主的觀念藝術無法達到的,這個特徵同時也是藝術作品存在的最終極基礎– ‘藝術性’ 。為此我必須說明,即使我所表現的材質是儘可能排除敘事性的干預而令其自行顯現與道說,但是這些純粹簡約的寂靜世界裡,‘藝術性’仍是不可分割地鑲嵌於作品的形式當中,作為藝術作品的最後依據。(整理 朱文海)

READ MORE